KU cancels admissions of students with forged documents

diplomafraud July 24, 2012 0

Director Admissions at University of Karachi (KU) Professor Dr Khalid Iraqi cancelled the admission of five candidates who submitted forged intermediate mark sheets, a spokesperson of the KU said on Sunday.

diploma fraud

According to a notification issued Memona Raza d/o Shahab Raza, Khalid Hameed s/o Adaalat Khan, Saeed s/o Muhammad Saeed, Darosha Nadeem d/o Nadeem Zahid and Sania Jawed d/o Jawed Tahir Alvi, submitted fake documents to get admissions in the BS Honours and Pharm-D programmes of the public sector varsity. The step was taken after the mark sheets were verified by the Board of Intermediate Education Karachi (BIEK), KU officials said.

KU distributes EU scholarships

The University of Karachi (KU) announced on Sunday that the varsity had awarded the European Union (EU) Scholarship to at least seven people. “Due to the fact that KU is one of the premier institutions of higher learning and research, it has been enlisted in the top universities of world. The pace of development will be continued with great rigor and motivation”, said Vice-Chancellor (VC) KU Professor Dr Muhammad Qaiser during the EU Scholarship distribution ceremony, which was organised by former Pro-VC of KU Professor, Dr Shahana Urooj Kazmi.

The current VC of KU said that the people awarded with these scholarships would act as the ambassadors of Pakistan at their respective foreign universities. He added that these scholarships were a testament to the fact that KU’s education standards were at par with the academic quality of institutions abroad.

Dr Qaiser said that the university would continue helping students in the future. On the occasion, Dr Kazmi explained that KU first applied for the concerned foreign programme and the application was approved by the EU.

The fact needs to be accentuated that KU was the first Pakistani university to be selected as a consortium member of the EU project Erasmus Mundus Europe Asia. Seven candidates were awarded the scholarship which include Mariya Khan – Assistant Registrar (BASR Section), Waqar Ahmed – Environmental Studies, Muhammad Faisal Awan – Department of International Relations, Saima Malhi – Department of Pharmacy, Amber Atta – Department of Chemistry (HEJ Institute), Nafees Anwar Siddiqui – Department of Statistics and M. Irfan – Department of Chemistry (HEJ Institute).

Source : thenews

Enter Your Mail Address